Two years!

Today marks two years since I last wore my uniform. I had been wearing a uniform since I was 12 as an army cadet, with the exception of 6 months in the 80s. So to take off a uniform after 35 years of service (and 5 years as an army cadet) was a significant step. It was the third time I was “released from the regular force.” And believe me, despite this “practice”, it still wasn’t easy.

The first time I was released was as an officer-cadet at CMR. I was released for academic failure as I had to attend civilian court during exams over a sexual assault against me, and I was forced to write 6 exams in 2 days due to the court date. Under these conditions it was was tough to pass, and I failed two exams and was released for it. The 2nd time I was released at 20 years of service. As I had “broken service”, I was not entitled to a intermediate engagement (IE 20) and was therefore not given further terms of service (a contract) to continue in the regular forces at 20 years. The third time was at 35 years of service, for medical reasons. By then I kind of had the process figured out.

Despite having worked at the executive level in transition group, and actually making the transition booklet and checklists, and having been released twice before, I still did not find it easy to walk away. Mentally, it is tough to take off the uniform after so many years, and this is normal. But, we all must take it off one day, so I hope some of my thoughts and points help you in your transition.

Think of your transition to civilian life as an operation that needs planning. We all know about that , right? Hear are some points to help you do your plan.

1. Read and learn all you can about transition. Attend SCAN seminaries early (early career, even in the first couple of year, and at least 5 years prior to a potential release). Do the checklist! If it says order your pension package early, do it! Any paperwork you can do early will help lessen the burden and stress. Sit down with some people who have done it, get their take on it. Find out what worked and what didn’t for them. This will help you plan.

2. Sit down with a SISIP financial advisor (hey it’s free, and they know better than any financial advisor what your benefits are… and they are not trying to sell you something!). The biggest stress for most people becomes money. Make sure you have a financial plan and use this free service to help you map it out. Free is good, so take advantage of it.

3. Apply for VAC benefits early! If you have any medical issue, even if you are not going to be possibly medically released for that issue, you can apply. No, VAC does not tell your doctor you have a pensionable condition. No, this does not trigger a medical release (that’s if you breach your ability to serve (universality of service). Yes, you can apply for disability benefits as early as you are diagnosed with a medical condition. Yes, even if it’s years before a release. Yes, you can have VAC pensionable conditions and NOT be medically released for them ( I had a few that did not affect my ability to serve.). You are potentially entitled to some financial benefit while serving. It is extremely tough to get a family physician, and then to find one that will fill out VAC paperwork, or even understand the relationship of injuries to service is frankly near impossible. I had several small on going issues a few years before I was medically released. I applied for a few 2 years prior to release, and I still had issues with civilian Doctors and paperwork, making it very tough to get these things finalized with VAC. So apply for any and all benefits as soon as you are diagnosed with an injury that is service related. As long as it is a permanent injury and related to service, you are likely entitled to some compensation (think knees, back issues, hearing loss, planter fasciitis, etc.. many of these so not necessarily constitue a medical release, but can cause permanent pain). If ever you are medically released, apply for the income replacement benefits early for a smooth transition. GET A MY VAC account NOW! There is lots of information there. Even if you do not have any medical issue, if you have at least 6 years of service, you are entitled for up to $40k for Education and Training! (Education and Training benefit). So get that VAC account now!

4. Have a plan. The first time I released I was an officer cadet and frankly had no plan. I was shocked I was released and had nowhere to go. The second time I was released, I knew it was coming, but did not want it to happen then either, but I had a plan. I went to the reserves and became a school teacher. I frankly did not want to take off the uniform! But this last time, being at 35 years of service, although I was medically released, I was more than ready (and the medical process does help prepare you and give you time to plan). Plan early and leave yourself options.

5. Some people want to work, others do not. I certainly was exhausted from being a dual service couple raising 4 boys, and doing several years of single parenting. I had medical issues, which was making it harder to work full time, and I knew that we, as a couple, needed to concentrate on us. As my husband was also being medically released, we also needed to work on our own health. I had always loved photography, and we knew we wanted to travel (we had actually booked a 3 month cruise in Asia/Pacific for 2 years after my medical release). So I went back to school for 2 years to perfect my passion. I knew I didn’t want to work in my field (Logistics), and I couldn’t work a full schedule anymore with my health issues, so photography became an excellent option. I wanted to retire and enjoy life and travel while I had the health to do so. So this was the best decision for me and my family. I have done some contract teaching, on a schedule I can manage and it keeps me busy from time to time while my husband enjoys his passions of fishing and hunting. I also do photography, of course. So whatever it is, it’s important to have a plan that works for you.

6. Don’t close doors. Although I knew I didn’t want to work full time, I still wanted options.. we never know what the future holds. So I ensured my security clearance wasn’t “closed”, I went to the commissionaires to ensure it was actif for a year. I have done a few teaching contracts to keep “current” and do some work that keeps my mind busy. Although I was offered lots of other options, I often say “not now” rather than no. Ensure you don’t close any doors, as you never know when you need them, as plans change. Having had a very atypical career, this has served me well through public service and private company jobs , reserve jobs and of course my army career. My plans often changed (not always by my choice) so always having a plan B and C and not closing doors will ensure you have options.

7. Plan your retirement location. You need to plan out Where you want to live, what you want to do, what your interests are. My husband and I start everyday at the gym. This routine we had in the army keeps us in a routine we love, and keeps our medical issues in check to hopefully travel longer, and remain healthy! We decided to stay in Ottawa as our friends are all here, and that is the part of the military we loved the most, the friendships. You need to sit down with your partner and figure out what works best for you. Is it close to family? Is it close to friends? Take this one slowly, as your initial opinion may change. Some leave angry, so want to break all ties, but then feel isolated a couple of year later. So make a plan that works for you and your family. Finally, remember that all of us take off the uniform one day. You are not alone. Reach out to your network for guidance and connect to those that can help.

You can follow our travel adventures on social media, look for Nanookstravels. I also have social media photography pages, look for telah.photography.

#retirement #veteransaffairs #CAFtransitiongroup

Nanookstravels Avatar

Published by

Categories:

Leave a comment