I was one of those military spouses that was determined to keep my family together. I was released from the regular force at 20 years of service, and although I did not want to be released, I took advantage of being a reservist, as it was easier to keep our family together (as a service couple). That meant that we still had to move lots, but were not living in separate cities. My eldest son even had to change high schools 4 times (and 3 provinces) to keep the family together. After all, keeping the family together is the most important thing we can do. Family means everything.

Then I was faced with my current situation. My middle two children are in grade 10 and 11. My husband is posted to Quebec, the ONLY place in all of North America that does not offer a grade 12. Moving simply means my son does not graduate from high school. There is the option to send him to CEGEP (Quebec’s 2 year college system that replaces grade 12 and 1st Yr of University), but applications need to be in by 1 March, which is LONG before posting messages are cut. Furthermore, most do not accept students from other provinces, as most want you to have completed secondary school. It is a conundrum!

The CAF has a  Children’s Education Management (CEM) team that

‘manages the education allowances and overseas schools for the DND personnel to ensure that their dependent children obtain the same quality of education regardless of the province or country they may be posted to’.

So, I contacted them, to see what the options were.

It should be noted there are a few private schools in Quebec that offer grade 12 (at a cost of about $40K or so). Ideally, if the Children’s Education Management system could assist with the cost, we could all move to Quebec. Yet, they do not. They DO ASSIST in this type of case, but the only assistance they can offer is to leave my two teens  (15 and 16 yr olds) behind in Ontario and they will pay the room and board and two trips home for the ten months of school. As a mom, I am not overly thrilled about leaving two of my children behind, that is IF I could find somewhere to have them live.

The official answered received from the department was:

‘Refs: A. CBI 12, http://www.familyforce.ca/sites/AllLocations/EN/Education%20and%20Training/Documents/Education%20of%20Children%20Chapter%2012.pdf

B.  How to Book,http://www.familyforce.ca/sites/AllLocations/EN/Education%20and%20Training/Documents/HOW_TO_BOOK_INCAN%20WEB_English%20Nov%2014.pdf

 

Quebec school system is unique and not a lot of solution exists while posted when your child has already completed grade 11 in another province.  We have one option to offer (beside remaining on IR of course).

 

We don’t pay for schooling if you move them to the province of Quebec. However, IAW Para 12.1.03(7) of ref A, your children who will be in grade 11 and grade 12 in Sep 15 could remain in Ottawa at their current schools and we would reimburse you for board and lodgings for a maximum of 10 months plus two return trips in a school year.  The details of the benefits and maximum amount can be found at Para 5 of ref B.’

IR (called Imposed Restriction) costs (to have the member live away from the family) can be very expensive. Current rates in Quebec are $1300 per month.  It seems it would make sense that we should seek every opportunity to find other options to assist families to reduce IR, it only makes financial sense.

Again, as a Mom, leaving two teens behind is just not a viable option to me. These are crucial years for them.  They need at least one parent around for them.

So this family will endure 2 more years of IR, until they can graduate high school. I cannot complain, for I know of people that have to have their children in different countries due to postings and education. I can at least choose to keep them at home, and make the sacrifice of living apart from my hubby for the sake of my kids.

Nanookstravels Avatar

Published by

Leave a comment